StudyTag Logo
Parents Safety Tips

Our goal is to make this website a fun and safe place for you and your children to learn and study. The best way for you as a parent to make sure your childrens' experience with this website is a positive one is to be directly involved in their use of the site.

Create a Premium Account

A Premium account allows you to setup and directly control student/children accounts. A Premium account allows you to setup access controls that limit student/children access to content and other members to help ensure a safe, secure, and positive learning experience.

A Student Account is Required for Children Under 13 Years Old

Children under 13 years old are only allowed to use the site if they have a Student Account. A Premium Account is used to create a student accounts.

Premium Accounts: Are created by selecting "Premium Account" under settings. Premium accounts add a new selection under the members tab called my students. My students is used to create and manage permission on student accounts. There are three specific security settings that may be applied to student accounts:

  • Premium Safety Option: Only approved content visible. If this is option is selected for a student then that student will only be able to see courses and lessons that the premium account specifically approves.
  • Premium Safety Option: Certified content is automatically approved. If this is option is selected for a student then certified content (content approved by StudyTag) will be automatically approved for the student's account.
  • Premium Safety Option: Only approved members visible. If this is option is selected for a student then only other students of the premium account and friends of the premium account will be visible to the student account.


Additional Safety Features

Courses: Courses are collections of lessons that are focused on a specific topic. Users can easily create, join, and leave courses.

  • Safety Features: You may create private courses that the public cannot find or join without a specific invitation.
  • Premium Account Safety Feature: Courses that are not specifically approved may be hidden from student accounts.


Lessons: Lessons contain facts and presentations about a particular topic. Facts are presented as questions to the students to help them learn the facts. Lessons may be published (hence visible to anyone on the site) or private (visible only to the authors of the lesson unless they are specifically shared).

  • Safety Feature: Lessons are not published by default.
  • Safety Feature: Non-published lessons may be privately shared in private courses.
  • Premium Account Safety Feature: Lessons that are not specifically approved may be hidden from student accounts.


Profiles: Profiles contain fun facts that users write about themselves on the site. A profile may contain an image the user uploads, and also references the public lessons the user has written.

  • Safety Feature: In settings it is possible to select Full Profile & Trophies are visible only to Friends and Family hiding your profile from anyone you don't know and specifically approve.
  • Premium Account Safety Feature: You may prevent your child's profile from being viewed by anyone whom is not specifically listed by you as a friend.
  • Premium Account Safety Feature: You may prevent your child from viewing profiles of others who have not specifically been listed by you as a friend.


Trophy Rooms: Trophy rooms contain trophies that represent the learning accomplishments of the users of the site. Every lesson the students master has an associated Trophy.

  • Safety Feature: In settings it is possible to select Full Profile & Trophies are visible only to Friends and Familyhiding your trophy room from anyone you don't know and specifically approve.
  • Premium Account Safety Feature: You may prevent your child's trophy room from being viewed by anyone whom is not specifically listed by you as a friend.
  • Premium Account Safety Feature: You may prevent your child from viewing trophy rooms of others who have not specifically been listed by you as a friend.


Friends & Family: Friends are collections of users whom may be given privileges to interact with your student accounts such as sending them mail and viewing their profiles. Family are all of the students in a Premium Account.

  • Premium Account Safety Feature: You may restrict your student accounts on-line interaction to friends and family.


Mail: Our mail is an internal only email system for sending messages between users.

  • Safety Feature: Every user may block other users from sending them Mail.
  • Premium Account Safety Feature: You may restrict your student accounts on-line mail to friends and family.


Keeping Your Children Safe

We want your children's interaction with this website to be a positive and safe one. We believe we offer amazing opportunities for children to learn and grow using the services we have created. Your guidance and involvement are essential to help ensure that children have a safe and rewarding experience.

Please review our Kids Safety Tips together with your children.